Morning Commute

I was in London the other weekend, and yet again I was surprised by just how busy the transport system was. I wasn’t using the tube at rush hour, yet the trains were still crowded and there was a crush on every platform.

The taxi from Euston Station to my hotel took 20 minutes to go a couple of miles. I certainly couldn’t face commuting like that every day.

Apparently, New York City residents take an average of 38.4 minutes to get to work each day — more than five minutes longer than Chicagoans, who face a commute of 32.7 minutes. The US national average is 24.4 minutes. That’s each way – so that’s almost an hour a day.

That’s getting on for 5 hours a week, sat in traffic like this.

As I got out of my car at work this morning, I noticed the trip computer. Mileage – 3.0 miles. Time – 6.0 minutes. Now that’s my kind of commute. I know I don’t pass a Starbucks, but that’s ok. I’ve got one of these waiting for me at work.

Leave a Reply

