Procrastinate, but procrastinate NOW !

Don’t put things off till tomorrow, when with a bit more effort you can ignore them for a couple of months.

I’ve been putting off doing my annual accounts for ages… I hate doing them… so I’ve been busy doing all sort of other, less urgent, things.

cartoon from www.weblogcartoons.com

I’ve been meaning to do my annual tax return since September. Finally, on Friday, I got round to doing it. After all, if it’s not submitted by 31st January, there’s a £100 fine.

All day Friday and on Saturday morning, i sweated over a hot Spreadsheet, to produce my accounts to 31st August 2006.

All ready to give to my Accountant for submission, I looked for last year’s accounts to find his phone number. That’s when I discovered that last year’s submission was the accounts to 31st August 2004.

So what I needed was accounts to 31st August 2005. Not 2006.

A small amount of swearing later, I started looking for the supporting documents and bank statements. Strangely, they all had little check marks on them. Just like the check marks I put on similar documents yesterday, when doing accounts for the wrong year.

A short(ish) search later, I found the prepared accounts for 31.8.05 were sat in a file… it seems like I made the same mistake last year too, and put the wrong ones to one side, ready for this year.

So I have put the accounts for 31.8.06 to one side, ready for January 2008. What’s the chances I will have forgotten that I’ve already done them.

Leave a Reply

