Local Radio phone-in

As I was waking gradually becoming conscious this morning, there was a phone-in on the local radio station.

What song has the lyrics “I guess you’ll say what” ?

Having worked hard the last couple of days wasted time in the office putting cds on my iPod, I was well aware of the answer and SO (= Significant Other) duly telephoned the radio station.

Well, actually she first telephoned a couple of wrong numbers, and then phoned the radio station. So if you were woken this morning with someone shouting “I’ve got the answer” in your ear, then I’m sorry.

Usually you phone in the answer, and they give you a name check. No prize. For some reason, this time they asked for our phone number. 10 minutes later, she’s live on the radio (I’m half conscious on the loo) and we’ve won a meal for 2.

No… I’m not telling you the answer. Put it on the replies, and I’ll let you know.  No meal for 2… but I might post a bag of wine gums… unless I eat them before…

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Night Warden said,

    I’ll hazard a guess at ‘My Girl’ by The Mamas and The Papas.

  2. 2

    David said,

    I once won the Compleate Works of Bill Shakespere on a radio call in program. I gave it to the local Oxfam Shop and it was still there in the window two years later.

  3. 3

    We went with the same song, but by The Temptations.

    I was wondering which artist was most appropriate, so I’ve just checked my book of Hit Singles named after a certain Irish nectar…

    In 1965 The Temptations took it to No.43 in the UK, while The Mamas & Papas did not have a UK hit with it at all (their first hit was 1966 with California Dreamin’)

    You got it right, though….

  4. 4

    Night Warden said,

    Hurrah! I’ll look forward to my wine gums in the near future 😉

  5. 5

    Andy Ritchie said,

    I was going to say the Mamas & The Papas too. But only after I had cheated and Googled it.

  6. 6

    Hi Andy. I listen to DLT on Magic at weekends… he says Googling is cheating too…….


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

