Back to the coalface

Well, I am back and rested. And I needed the rest.

The Sunday just before I went away was the date for our annual BBQ party. In previous years, I have been responsible to cooking burning cremating the food but no longer. Because last year was our 40th anniversary, I booked a caterer to do a Hog Roast, which went down very well, and a number of people asked if we were doing the same this year.

When I replied that I would be BBQing, there was a silence. A long silence. A pregnant silence. A very pregnant, about to give birth, silence.

The following day I was visited by several caravan owners who volunteered to run the BBQ between themselves. Bribery, in the form of promises of home made marinades, was mentioned. It seems my cooking is so bad that even after 2 years everyone remembers it, and will even volunteer rather than let me do it.

Last year, again as a one-off because of the 40th, we booked a singer for the evening. This year we had settled on Karaoke. I’d already bought the Karaoke machine for £99 on eBay… and then bought the amplifier, speakers, CD decks, mixer, discs, cases, stands etc for what probably added up to another £990…. so I was DJ for the evening.

Last time I DJ’d was in 1979 when I worked at Pontins… records had grooves, YMCA was a party dance not a gay anthem, Debbie Harry was sexy, Boy George was still a boy and Michael Jackson was still black! Understandably I was a little rusty and there were occasional “errors” when I faded to a disc that wasn’t actually there… but all had a great time.

After all, any excuse for me to buy a new toy and play music really loud…….. the stereo in my car is good, but it’s not as good as a system that won’t even fit in the boot of the car!

After packing away on Monday morning, with hangover, it was time for holiday, so I didn’t get a chance to post. I was very happy, however, when I was on Ocean Village, to note that their DJ console was a cheaper model with less features than mine!

OK, I know… boys and toys…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    By the way…

    I just wrote “back to the coal face” as an expression like “back to work” or “back to the old grind”. I didn’t really think about it.

    However, it fits nicely with the bit about Michael Jackson……

  2. 2

    Night Warden said,

    Welcome back, glad you enjoyed your break. It’s been pretty busy on my site too.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

