Is it a bird ?????

Although I live and work in the countryside, I don’t have much idea about identifying flora and fauna.

At junior school I remember being the butt of some amusement because I couldn’t tell a lettuce from a cauliflower. Well… they are both green and round… and bigger than a sprout.

My nature knowledge has consisted of the following.

If it’s green and flat…… it’s a lawn

If it’s green and round……. it’s a bush

If it’s green, round and on a stick……. it’s a tree.

If it flies…. it’s probably a bird. Or a plane.

However, I have to produce an “interpretation guide” to inform visitors about nature on and around the Caravan Park.

I put it off as long as possible, then, last night, inspiration struck. It might have been the “brain oil”…. a few pints of San Miguel …. but I knew how to do it. And this lunchtime, it is printed and in Reception.

My inspiration was simply to ask a few people what things were called…. make a list…. look them up in Wikipedia…. then print the (edited for length) results.

Yahoo!!!!!!

The Conservation Foundation inspect us this month, for the David Bellamy Conservation Awards. Last time we were inspected, 4 years ago, we scored high Bronze…. here’s hoping for a Silver!

OK…. OK…. Here’s hoping for a GOLD !!!!

But I’ll settle for a silver…. it still means we have made some progress.

Leave a Reply

